Bibliophile: The Dresden Files

The Dresden Files: Harry Dresden, the only Wizard in the Yellow Pages.

HARRY DRESDEN — WIZARD
Lost Items Found. Paranormal Investigations.
Consulting. Advice. Reasonable Rates.
No Love Potions, Endless Purses, Parties or Other Entertainment

The Dresden Files are set in a “alternate” Chicago where magic is real, but only a few actually believe in it; it’s a first-person tale told by an irascible wizard named Harry Dresden, who regularly gives the magical establishment indigestion — and the police, the same. Take Sam Spade, your Average Joe Underdog Action Star, and toss in some spellcraft, and you get Harry Blackstone Copperfield Dresden. Heck of a guy.

I found the Dresden Files completely by accident. I was at the Library after College classes one afternoon, way back in 2003, and had gotten the newest Star Wars novel that came out, along with the newest Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter novel by Laurell K Hamilton.

So I was standing around waiting for my family to choose their books and finish up their stuff and I started browsing the new releases/new books in the Library collection shelf at the front of the Library. I saw a book called Fool Moon and let me tell you I am a sucker for werewolves. Ever since I first got the Internet back in ’99 I was looking into werewolf books and art, movies that I’d not got to see, the typical.

I read the back of Fool Mon and in big letters it said: ”If you like Laurell K Hamilton you’ll love this!” Well seeing as one of Laurell’s Books was the reason I even showed up at the Library, that was an endorsement I couldn’t well ignore.

Now, I HATE reading books out of order, it pains me to do so. I saw that this book was number 2 in the series and just as I went to find the first one in the series, my family concluded their business and said time to go.

So, I go ahead and get book 2 even though I really wanted book one first. We got in the car and I started looking over the book and read chapter one. Which lead me to wanting to read two, then three. I read that entire book before the next morning.

For me to skip a new Star Wars Novel, which is my greatest obsession and to skip the newest Anita Blake book too, was unheard of.

Harry Dresden quickly became one of my favorite characters. Not only can he perform magic and boldly declares himself in the yellow pages AND has an office door that says, Harry Dresden, Wizard; he can deliver smartass one liners with the best of them.

Harry is portrayed as one of the good guys who has had a rough go of it, he gets battered and broken, a lot. And generally has a hard time making friends, but is great at making enemies.

He lives in Chicago and is Chicago’s only practicing Professional Wizard, as again is declared in his yellow page advertisement.

With help from new friends, and old, and a pervy Spirit that lives in a skull on a shelf, Harry proves time and again in each novel he will willfully do what is necessary to save lives and protect people, even at detriment to himself.

If you like Urban Fantasy I urge you to take a look into The Dresden Files by Jim Butcher. I doubt you’ll regret it.

The Science Fiction Book Club has gathered many of the Dresden books into hardcover omnibuses: Storm Front, Fool Moon, and Grave Peril are collected in Wizard for Hire; Summer Knight and Death Masks are in Wizard By Trade; Blood Rites and Dead Beat are in Wizard at Large; and Proven Guilty and White Night make up Wizard Under Fire. No plans have been announced for subsequent omnibuses.

Leave a Reply

